Rianna Jarrett Wins 2018 Player Of The Year After Treble Winning Season

The 2018 Continental Tyres Women’s National League season’s awards took place in Ballsbridge Hotel, Dublin on Friday night.

Republic of Ireland and Wexford Youth striker Rianna Jarrett was awarded Player of the Year after an astonishing campaign where she notched 27 goals to help her side win the League title, FAI Cup and Development Shield – an unprecedented treble.

The 24-year-old was nominated against fellow Wexford Youth team-mates Lauren Dwyer and Kylie Murphy along with Peamount United’s Amber Barrett and Niamh Farrelly. Galyway’s Aislinn Meaney was among the other nominees.

Jarrett who has been plagued with injuries in her short career spoke of her delight after winning the award. The lethal forward had fractured a bone in her foot on international duty whilst also having suffered three ACL injuries before she turned 21.

“It has been a fantastic season for me personally but also for the whole team. To win the League, Cup and Shield is an outstanding achievement and this is a special group of players to play with,” Jarrett said at the Ballbridge Hotel.

“I had to work incredibly hard to get back from the injuries I’ve suffered over the years and to have a moment like this makes it all worth it.”

Goal scoring rival and international team-mate Amber Barrett of Peamount United claimed the the Women’s National League golden boot for the second year in a row as she finished the season with an astonishing 30 goals this season.

Despite missing a large portion of the season due to injury, Barrett netted at a remarkable strike rate of over two goals a game – including seven hat-tricks.

Other winners on the night included UCD Waves goalkeeper Erica Turner who claimed the Young Player of the Year whilst Shelbourne Ladies’ U17 striker Emily Whelan was named as the Under-17 League Player of the Year.

Turner, an Ireland Women’s Under-19 international, has been a stand-out performer this season in the league and was also named in the Team of the Year.

In the Continental Tyres Women’s National League Team of the Season, four Peamount United players were named, including Niamh Farrelly, Amber Barrett, Megan Smyth-Lynch and captain Louise Corrigan.

Kylie Murphy, Lauren Dwyer and Rianna Jarrett were the three players named in the Team from Wexford Youths, whilst Cork City’s Eabha O’Mahony, Galway Womens’ Aislinn Meaney and Shelbourne Ladies’ Seana Cooke made up the impressive looking team.

2018 Continental Tyres Women’s National League Awards

Player of the Year
Rianna Jarrett – Wexford Youths

Young Player of the Year
Erica Turner – UCD Waves

U17 Player of the Year
Emily Whelan – Shelbourne

Top Goalscorer
Amber Barrett – Peamount United

Team of the Season
Erica Turner – UCD Waves
Seana Cooke – Shelbourne Ladies
Eabha O’Mahony – Cork City
Louise Corrigan – Peamount United
Lauren Dwyer – Wexford Youths
Kylie Murphy – Wexford Youths
Aislinn Meaney – Galway Women’s
Niamh Farrelly – Peamount United
Amber Barrett – Peamount United
Rianna Jarrett – Wexford Youths
Megan Smyth-Lynch – Peamount United


HerSport Editor

Her Sport is a media platform centred on bringing the latest Irish and international women’s sports news. Her Sport aims to empower women in sport, inspire more female participation, increase opportunity and level the playing field for future generations. Our objective is to create real and tangible change.

Related Articles

Back to top button