17-Year-Old Parsons Named In Exciting Ireland Squad for Sydney Sevens Series​

17-year-old uncapped Beibhinn Parsons has been named in an exciting Irish Women’s Seven’s squad ahead of the third leg of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series in Sydney, which kicks-off next week.

Parsons, became the nation’s youngest senior debutant in the XV’s format, when she made her first appearance in the green jersey last Novemeber against the USA. Parson’s is joined by Munster’s Emily Lane who will also be hoping to make her Seven’s World Series Debut.

The travelling squad is captained by Ireland’s all-action halfback Lucy Mulhall. Also named in the squad is Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe, who scored a phenomenal six tries at the last Sevens Series in Dubai, one try short of the leading try scorer.

The squad will train at the Sydney Academy of Sport and Recreation in Narrabeen before relocating to central Sydney ahead of the first game on 1 February against Russia.  

This season’s Seven’s HSBC series has huge importance for the Irish dream of competing at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, as it represents one pathway for teams to book their spot in Tokyo. The top four teams at this year’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will secure automatic qualification.

The Sydney 7’s mark the halfway point of this years World Series as Ireland are currently sitting seventh on the log, with 16 points to their name.

The squad recorded an 8th place finish at the Dubai Sevens in November. Narrow defeats to both to England and France saw them finish eighth overall. Despite this Ireland took away plently of positives including their best ever results against Russia – a 26-0 win. Ireland also secured a 6th place finish in the USA Seven’s Series back in October.

This tournament, Ireland have been drawn into Pool B where they will face Russia, Canada and Fiji with the hope of progressing to Saturday’s play-offs.

Irish Sydney Seven’s Fixtures:                                        

Friday, February 1st 2019:

Russia v Ireland, Spotless Stadium, Sydney, 1am Irish time

Canada v Ireland, Spotless Stadium, Sydney, 4.06am Irish time

Ireland v Fiji, Spotless Stadium, Sydney, 6.28am Irish time

Ireland Women’s Squad

Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC & Shannon RFC/Munster)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
Katie Heffernan (Railway Union RFC & Mullingar RFC/Leinster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Brittany Hogan (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)
Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union RFC/Munster) 
Anna McGann (Old Belvedere & UCD RFC/Leinster)
Emily Lane (Mallow RFC/Munster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC) Captain
Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (Old Belvedere RFC/Munster)
Audrey O’Flynn (Ireland 7s Programme)
Béibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe RFC / Connacht) *
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)

HerSport Editor

Her Sport is a platform giving girls and women a voice in sport. Our mission is to level the playing field through increasing visibility, education and creating a cultural shift.
Back to top button