Megan Frazer Returns As Irish Hockey Squad Named For South Africa Tour

Hockey Ireland have announced the Ireland Women’s Hockey squad which will travel to Durban in South Africa at the end of March. A 21-player squad has been selected for an eight match tour which will feature games against China, South Africa and Japan.
Ulster’s Megan Frazer is set to return to the Irish set-up after being ruled out previously due to a niggling knee-injury. The injury kept her out of the 2018 World Cup final defeat to the Netherlands and also made her unavailable for the Olympic play-offs against Canada last November.
Ireland were set to travel to Malaysia next month to acclimatise to the humid conditions expected in Tokyo. Plans have changed due to concerns over the coronavirus. Ireland will travel back to South Africa where they spent their last training camp in January.

Landed safe & sound in SA with the first session done to get some travel outta the legs. 2 more trainings before our first game against SA tomorrow afternoon! #chaseit #greenarmy #olympicprep

— Green Army (@IreWomenHockey) January 18, 2020

Uncapped 19-year old goalkeeper Ellie McLoughlin is also included in the squad whilst Naomi Carroll and Ali Meeke both also make their return to the squad.
Like Frazer, Carroll has been troubled by injury of late while Meeke was not included in the play-offs against Canada. Chloe Watkins has not been selected after undergoing minor surgery.
Speaking on the announcement Head Coach, Sean Dancer, said, “We have selected a very balanced squad for our South Africa tour.”
“This will be an important period for us, not just for team performance but also exposure to humid conditions.”
“We are looking forward to seeing Megan Frazer return to competition after a long rehab period, and the un-capped addition of Ellie McLoughlin in our environment.”
In Japan, Ireland’s first match is against South Africa on 25 July and their other group opponents will be Germany, Great Britain, India, South Africa and world and European champions, the Netherlands.

Squad Selected:

1 Ayeisha McFerran Ulster Goal Keeper 23 96
2 Roisin Upton Munster Defender / MF 25 70
3 Nikki Evans Leinster Striker 29 191
4 Kathryn Mullan (Captain) Ulster MF / Striker 25 186
5 Shirley McCay Ulster Defender 31 299
6 Megan Frazer Ulster Def / MF / Str 28 136
7 Elana Tice Leinster Defender 21 102
8 Gillian Pinder Leinster Midfielder 27 164
9 Beth Barr Ulster Defender 24 20
10 Lizzie Colvin Ulster Midfielder 29 189
11 Nicola Daly Leinster MF / Striker 31 189
12 Hannah Matthews Leinster Defender 28 140
13 Sarah Hawkshaw Leinster MF / Striker 22 26
14 Anna O’Flanagan (Vice Captain) Leinster MF / Striker 29 201
15 Zoe Wilson Ulster Defender / MF 22 103
16 Ellen Curran Leinster Midfielder 20 19
17 Alison Meeke Leinster Def / MF / Str 28 145
18 Ellie McLoughlin Leinster Goal Keeper 19 Uncapped
19 Hannah McLoughlin Leinster Def / MF / Str 20 10
20 Sarah Torrans Leinster Striker 20 21
21 Naomi Carroll Munster Striker 26 111

HerSport Editor

Her Sport is a platform giving girls and women a voice in sport. Our mission is to level the playing field through increasing visibility, education and creating a cultural shift.
Back to top button