FAI Announce Expansion To Women’s National League

The FAI have announced that the Women’s National League is set to include nine teams for the upcoming 2020 season.

Athlone Town AFC, Bohemian FC and Treaty United are the three new teams to join the league whilst Kilkenny United drop out after being removed from the league by the FAI.

Athlone Town AFC were announced as Kilkenny United’s replacement earlier this year, as the latter were denied a license for the 2020 season. Athlone have been busy in the transfer window having announced five more signings ahead of their debut season.

Bohemian FC join after they endured a hugely successful first year at under-17 level which has seen the interest in joining a senior league rapidly increase.

Treaty United’s application to enter the Women’s National League has been accepted and they make up the final team to join the new nine-team format.

The club, will replace Limerick WFC, who made their National League debut in 2018.

Cork City, DLR Waves, Galway WFC, Peamount United, Shelbourne and Wexford Youths make up the remainder of the teams in the league this season.

With just over a month until the league kicks off on March 15th, clubs are still in dark about the fixture list and players have expressed their frustration.

Former Republic of Ireland international and Peamount United captain Aine O’Gorman voiced her frustration on Twitter earlier last week as the reigning champions continue their pre-season without clarity over the league’s make-up.

In addition to the new league participants, the FAI have stated that the fixture list for the 2020 season will be released on Thursday.

HerSport Editor

Her Sport is a media platform centred on bringing the latest Irish and international women’s sports news. Her Sport aims to empower women in sport, inspire more female participation, increase opportunity and level the playing field for future generations. Our objective is to create real and tangible change.

Related Articles

Back to top button